85th Session Legislative Update #23

As the legislative session ended, the 2018 election cycle began. While legislators will turn their attention soon enough on the upcoming Special Session, which starts July 18, 2017, there will be 222 federal and state offices that will be on the ballot in Texas, including one U.S. senator, all 36 U.S. congressmen, the Governor, Lt. Governor, Attorney General, Comptroller, Land Commissioner, Agriculture Commissioner and 6 other statewide elected officials, 15 state senators, all 150 state representatives, as well as 7 members of the State Board of Education. The following is the latest list of candidates who have taken an official action towards challenging an incumbent officeholder or running for what is anticipated to be an open seat. The list does not include those candidates who are “rumored” or may be “interested” in running, but those that meet one of the following criteria:

  • Filed formal paperwork establishing campaign committees
  • Announced their intention to run, or scheduled a formal announcement
  • Formed an exploratory committee
  • Established a social media presence for the campaign; or
  • Launched a social media page or effort to raise funds for a potential campaign.

The official filing period for candidates on the November 2018 ballot does not begin until November 11, 2017, so no one listed below has officially filed to run for any office. This list is sure to change and we will keep you updated with further developments in what is sure to be an interesting election cycle.

Statewide Offices

Governor – Greg Abbott (R)

  • Danny Harrison (R), Plano landscaping and construction business owner
  • Larry “SECEDE” Kilgore (R), Las Colinas resident and unsuccessful 2014 gubernatorial candidate
  • Kory Watkins (L), Lone Oak gun rights activist

Lt. Governor – Dan Patrick (R)

  • Miriam Martinez (R), Edinburg television personality and 2014 candidate for governor
  • Mike Collier (D), Houston accountant, state Democratic Party finance chair and 2014 nominee for comptroller (38%)
  • Michael Cooper (D), Beaumont pastor
  • Allen Vaught (D), Dallas attorney and former state representative

Land Commissioner – George P. Bush (R)

  • Davey Edwards (R), Alvord surveyor

Agriculture Commissioner – Sid Miller (R)

  • Thomas Caudle (D), Dallas attorney and cattle rancher
  • Kim Olson (D), Mineral Wells nonprofit director and former Weatherford ISD trustee

Railroad Commissioner – Christi Craddick (R)

  • Roman McAllen (D), Denton architect
  • Mark Miller (L), Austin petroleum engineer and two-time Libertarian nominee

Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8 – Elsa Alcala (R), not seeking re-election

  • Alex Kim (R), Fort Worth attorney and 2014 candidate for Tarrant Co. Criminal Court No. 3

Court of Criminal Appeals, TBD

  • Jay Brandon (R), San Antonio attorney and 2000 candidate for Fourth Court of Appeals

Please contact us directly for a full list of candidates.